Teacher's computer virus? URGENT plz help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default Teacher's computer virus? URGENT plz help

Hi, i was at my teachers house fixing his computer last night, had a virus that Norton and AVG could not find, the computer will turn on and anywhere in the boot up process(either before starting windows or during it, or after it loads all start up programs in windows) it will jsut reset, I'm guessing this is a virus anyway, havent had this problem until last week, he thought we should wipe the whole thing out, which we did, so i formatted the HDD installed Window xp home, put on ZoneAlarm, AVG and Firefox and he just emailed me last night saying it was still there, I was wondering is this a virus that exists somewhere on the HDD that doesn't get formatted by the XP disc such as MBR?(I have no clue if XP disc formats the MBR also) I was thinking about running one of those low level format programs such as Active Killdisk to get rid of it this time, or do you think it may be a hardware conflict? however he has not installed any new hardware or software, I know his kids must go to game sites such as Nick.com or w/e it is. Any help greatly appreciated.
__________________

IBMan is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is this problem still happening?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

yes, he sent me an email this morning saying that it still does restart randomly during startup
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

you don't think it could just be some dust or something in the case causing a short or something do u?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Well, it could be, but I'm not quite sure it would be that consistent. I could be wrong.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

lol, o well thanks for input anyway.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

anyone have any idea?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it you have a boot sector virus use powermax (cd iso) in my sig to wipe it clean. with version 4, you can use the quick format option. it will completly erase the first and last 300mb to clean the MBR and it will quick erase the rest rest.

with powerMAX 3 YOU USE TO HAVE to use the full format to erase the mbr, which took a loooooooong time
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 02:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You might want to take all items off the motherboard except the ones that are essential for boot. Like 1 stick of memory, processor, videocard if you dont have onboard, etc. Run the least amount of hardware, bootup, see if it reboots on its own, if not, then add another item until this problem happens again.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

wow...that could take some time.
but OK, I'll let him know what your input was and I'm going to try it. Thanks for all help. After I get a chance to work on it I will get back to you.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.