taskbar/ background changed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default taskbar/ background changed!

I ran checkdisk after some hardrive corruptions, and now my taskbar is grey instead of blue and the start menu/control panel background is now white instead of blue. I have tried changing it back via themes but no diff. After rebooting it says i am using Windows XP (modified). Any suggestions aprreciated.
I have windows XP home. SP2.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Start > Control Panel > Display > Appearance tab

Select the configuration you want.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I have been to the appearance tab and changed the color scheme but that does not fix my problem. I should also note that all "buttons" are now smaller, ie the Start button is now small, squarer and grey, and used to be larger, green and rounder. My browser is also affected (all files and folders affected) Firefox has windows 98 looking "style". My res is the same.
Also, under the Appearance tab, "Windows and Buttons"; this tab has only one option, "Windows classic Style", and Im thinking a option or two is missing?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Ah..Hello,

I or once had this issue, on the downstairs Windows XP PC. Not sure why or how, but the two Windows XP Themes journeyed off somewhere...It was only until I did a complete format was I able tp get it back...but that was when I formatted for a more critical reason.

I tried looking for information on th net, but couldn't find anything. I think it's a dead end issue .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try this reg file, install it, and reboot.

undo classic
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Thanks guys,
I figured reformat or system restore will fix the problem. Windows has so many bugs its amazing, and my computers only one month old. How do I install that "undo Classic" link, sry i dont know. Its a text document.
What about the repair option with a Xp cd. Will i lose anything by doing that? Of course it will change all my settings......Argh
Cheers!
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

A repair won't touch your personally created files, only system files. But it's always wise to backup your data before repairing, or frequently for that matter.

I've found that repair doesn't always fix issues, but I'm sure it will fix this one .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.