Task Manager - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2006, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Question Task Manager

I Have a simple problem on my computer. I logged on this morning as admin and when i tried to open task manager it states that it has been blocked or something by the admin.

But what is funny to me is that I am the admin and i have never set anything like that. I don't know how to fix it. Please help, and thanks in advance.
__________________

T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Click Start, Run, and copy + paste the following code and press enter.

REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Pol icies\System /v DisableTaskMgr /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

Oh, it worked. Thanks for the info.
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Though it works, doesn't explain why it was disabled in the first place.

Go through through Warezs Spyware/Virus removal guide.
Alot of trojans wube disabling taskman.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

I went through the Warezs Spyware thing. And all it comes up with is a wikipedia topic. I went through that too and it comes up with a bunch of spyware removal software. I happen to have one of them and it does not detect anything. What would you think it is?
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You should run some anti-virus programs to search for trojans and virus.

Some free ones are Avast and AVG.

You can get it at:
http://www.filehippo.com

A spyware program won't detect that kind of things.
brinks is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

Alright, im downloading the Avast one. I will run it and get back to you if i found any. Thanks for the help.
__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to T88SupraStyle
Default

Ok, i ran the Viruscan and it did not find any trojans. I don't know what to do anymore.
__________________

__________________
テツヤ
T88SupraStyle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.