Syster Restore Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to ashiYami
Default Syster Restore Question

Hi,
I have been trying to fix my parent PC (running XP) because it's performance has been greatly compromised. It's sluggish and if you try to expand the All programs you get nothing. the window doesnt slide out at all. I tried virus checkers and came up empty, I tried defrag and it came up with a missing file error, so my last hope was system restore. The window opens up but it's never loaded. I stared at a blank window for almost an hour. Is there anyway of doing a system restore outside of windows?
__________________

ashiYami is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do a system repair but you need the XP cd. Do you have it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I think you can do it in winternals
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to ashiYami
Default

actually, the first thing that pops up is the HP logo and i hit F10. it took me right into the system restore. Everything is all fixed now. Thanks for the help guys
ashiYami is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Aghh yes manufactures are good about having a recovery partiton glad that worked for you.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.