System Restore / Trojan Virus!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2004, 02:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Default System Restore / Trojan Virus!!!

I ran McAfee virus scan and found 5 Trojan files which were successfully deleted by Mcafee.
Should I disable the system restore and then restart my PC???? I'm not quite sure when I should use system restore....Any additional info is greatly appreciated.....
thanxxxxx
__________________

kanoni is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you should enable system restore when you are planning to use it or if you want to be able to restore your settings in the future.

you don't need to reboot your system rightnow..you could run system restore wich saves all important settings and some important windows-files...you can restore it later for example when your system crashes or other problems occur
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Trojan mules are quite common. I use a combination of Notron Antivirus and Lavasoft's Ad-aware to get most of the little buggers out.

You can really 100% protect yerself from them.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Default

I use Mcafee virus scan, Zone Alarm firewall, Anti-Spy from yahoo toolbar, spybot and RegSupreme to clean the registry, and spyware blaster which is suppose to run in the background without even doing anything and protects from incoming spyware and adware.
I'm suprised i cought these trojan's, but I think they come from that astalavista.com site....anyone agree?
I believe my pc is pretty secure with all these little programs....I hope so.....any comments?
kanoni is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

no...I visit astalavista.com regularly and never had any problems with toolbars
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Jesus, Kanoni...You got a serious case of what we call "Paranoid Anti-Virus Scan Abuser" syndrom.

You don't need forty peices of AV. All that stuff you got is overkill.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Fix-It Utilities contains all this stuff in one program (except spyware)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

disabling restore depends on what kind of trojan and the last restore point compared to when the trojan was gotten and if it alters any system files. if it does alter system files or use a name scheme then you may need to disable restore and then re-enable it, but it all depends on what you had. just look it up to find out if its needed.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 04:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185
Default

Disable System Restore, boot into safe mode, run AV, reboot. This usually works good for me. I don't the problem is astalavista, but the sites that you go to from there may be problematic (cracks and wares).
__________________

__________________
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.