System Restore - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2005, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Iantosca
Default System Restore

I lost the system restore cd for my computer. I contacted the vendor and they told me that I would have to pay $35 for a cd just containing the drivers and not the operating system ... not happening especially since I can just download them for free anyway.

I want to format my hard drive, but have no system restore cd. I want clear my computer of all of the changes made since I bought it ... all software, updated drivers, etc. But since I lost the system restore cd I can't put the OS back on it.

Has anyone ever had this problem before and overcame it using software, whatever. Please help me out. Thanks.
__________________

Iantosca is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 127
Send a message via AIM to Iantosca
Default

Alright, I'll ask this way: Does anyone know of a way to just take the windows os setup files off of a computer?

Are they stored in the windows folder? I have my key, it's a legit copy. I just lost my restore cd.
__________________

Iantosca is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Which Manufactor is it? Compaq and HP usually, depending on how old, have the system restore on a partition.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I don't really know the solution that you're looking for. But why not isntall your OS over your current one, it should leave all of your files. I would back up first of course anyways.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

All of the source files are in a folder named I386, usually located in C:\windows\I386, but they are all compressed meaning they are all named .DL_ for .DLL, you would have to know all of the extensions.

Or you could find a pirated copy of windows and since you have your key it would be "legal", I think. anybody know?
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well it is pirated so it wouldnt be legal even if you use your own CD Key. But it should work. Not the right thing to do but i am not here to argue that point.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.