System restore - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2007, 08:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 24
Default System restore

I sometimes can use System restore with success and other times not. I actually thought that if I designated a restore point ahead of time, that it would work. It did not. Is there a trick to being able to pick a restore point that will work the first time? Is this program anything like Goback?
I use this whenever it seems that I might have virus that has not been detected or dealt with yet by Norton. Somtimes I cannot get my designated homepage established in internet options to stay there. it goes back to MSN. and I also have problems with the "Errors on page" display. I have tried the directions given at microsofts IE troubleshooting page with no luck. I may not be doing it right. Its confusing.
at times I have been able to find a restore point and not have to deal with fixing these problems. At present it seems no restore points are working. I have removed all my important data to another hard drive and removed it from the tower and am prepared to wipe it and start over. Any help?

petris is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 08:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
superdave1984's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: System restore

System restore is iffy. You don't always get the desiresd result. Best bet is to use a backup and restore from that. Ghost or other backup software will do nicely. Otherwise you may think you solved a problem when you really didn't. You don't get rid of viruses using system restore. It only restores system settings and stuff like that. Dunno why your settings aren't sticking though.

Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 08:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Re: System restore

a virus can be hidden in the system restore Its why I always turn it off.
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 08:58 AM
system restore MAAX Z Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-06-2007 08:33 AM
System Restore, Windows XP Media Center jbcohen Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-13-2007 09:42 AM
TF Infraction Card System BUGGY!!!! I mean Computer BUGGY! Harper Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 2 04-08-2007 05:43 PM
System Fan Error! gfX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-25-2007 10:47 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.