System Reboots Before/After burning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2005, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default System Reboots Before/After burning

I've got a strange problem. My system reboots at different times for a reason I cannot figure. These are the times it will reboot.
- Sometimes when I put in a disc(blank or not, DVD or CD) the system will reboot once it's done reading the disc.
- Sometimes when I'm done a burn and just as I reload another image to burn, it reboots.
- Sometimes when I'm dne burning, and I go and close the app that I used for the burn, the system will reboot.

Now I use Nero 7 Ultra Edition (for burning images) and I also use Roxio Media Creator 7.5 (for burning Music). Now regardless of which software I use, the system will reboot as described above.
At first I was thinking that it is my Power Supply, but if it was that, then should the burn not even be possible. Is the most demanding time on the Power Supply during the burn?
BTW, on reboot it will do the regular disk check and finish booting up. Now when the reboot happens, it gives no error message, it just reboots.

I am running:
Windows XP Pro w/SP2
AMD Athlon 1.1 GHz
Asus A7V8X-X Mother Board
Top Power 350W Power Supply
2- 512MB Sticks of Ram
1- 250GB HD
1- 100GB HD
1- 60GB HD
1- Plextor PX-712A Burner

Any suggestions would be very appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

Shinobi is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Control Panel/System/Advanced/Settings (Startup & Recovery)/System Failure/Uncheck-Automatically Restart. Next time it happens you will get an error code rather than the re-boot and you can go from there.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Also go to Start>Run>eventvwr and see what it sais in there
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: System Reboots Before/After burning

Quote:
Originally posted by Shinobi
I've got a strange problem. My system reboots at different times for a reason I cannot figure. These are the times it will reboot.
- Sometimes when I put in a disc(blank or not, DVD or CD) the system will reboot once it's done reading the disc.
- Sometimes when I'm done a burn and just as I reload another image to burn, it reboots.
- Sometimes when I'm dne burning, and I go and close the app that I used for the burn, the system will reboot.

Now I use Nero 7 Ultra Edition (for burning images) and I also use Roxio Media Creator 7.5 (for burning Music). Now regardless of which software I use, the system will reboot as described above.
At first I was thinking that it is my Power Supply, but if it was that, then should the burn not even be possible. Is the most demanding time on the Power Supply during the burn?
BTW, on reboot it will do the regular disk check and finish booting up. Now when the reboot happens, it gives no error message, it just reboots.

I am running:
Windows XP Pro w/SP2
AMD Athlon 1.1 GHz
Asus A7V8X-X Mother Board
Top Power 350W Power Supply
2- 512MB Sticks of Ram
1- 250GB HD
1- 100GB HD
1- 60GB HD
1- Plextor PX-712A Burner

Any suggestions would be very appreciated.

Thanks.
I've had a couple of goofy issues with nero 7. it's buggy
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Well thanks for the suggestions. I allowed for error logging. And what I got was different errors each time. First I got a "Page Fault In Nonpaged Area" error. I started thinking maybe bad ram. Then it happed again, and I got a different error. So then I decided to uninstall Nero 7. So and I had no errors. Then I uninstalled Easy Media Creator, and reinstalled Nero 7. The error still did not occur. So I'm guessing Easy Media Creator and Nero 7 were confilicting.
Shinobi is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Thats a very good possibility. I use them both 7.5 and 6.16, not 7 yet.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I'm having nero 7 issues with it being the only thing on the computer
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Try this..i alread posted it but some one you might not have seen it.

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=74290
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 11:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Why does Nero always seem to have issues when running on XP or a XP varient?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 11:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

This is the first issue i have seen with them. I've had alcohol screw me up a few times
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.