System Log Full - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 96
Default System Log Full

Hi Everyone,
Heres the situation. A user from our company is away on business, and right now, while not connected to the network since he is in a hotel room, he gets the error that the system log is full. Basically what normally happens is that the user would log in, then connect to VPN, then run any login scripts, etc that they need. It seems as though the laptop needs to be logged in under an Administrative account in order to get in, and clear the logs. Is there any way that the user can login when they are not plugged into the network and without me giving the company wide administrator password? Thanks in advance
__________________

Brain is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

you can write a wrapper to use the CPAU tool to run the program/batch file as the local admin. You just need to get it to the user.
if you need help, just ask.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

probably for your remote user your admin has configured a roaming profile that is on your server. you may want to check with your admin before changing
tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.