System Idle Process bad behaviour! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2008, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default System Idle Process bad behaviour!

Simple question. Maybe not a simple answer.

"Why is my System Idle Process hogging my CPU *even when* I'm trying to use demanding programs?"

It started yesterday. I've tried rebooting to no avail. I also can't think of anything significant I've done to my software setup the last few days.

As I understand it, the System Idle Process is putting part of my CPU 'to sleep' so save power. The problem is- when I run a game, it keeps doing it, and I end up with 10 FPS.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Fixed

Problem solved.

...I flipped the power switch. Clearly there was something lingering in my... RAM?
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

so....are you saying your computer acts this way because you never usually turn it off? if so could be a 3rd party app that has memory leaks...or some game

if the above power thing is so...turn your pc off when you don't use it :P
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

I shut it down most days. This time I turned the power supply off itself. That's what I meant.
I've realised which application causes the problem. It's so beyond me to even start figuring out how to remedy this that i think i'll leave it, maybe wait for the update. I might go and post on their forums but then again it could be all down to my system.
(the app is called Steam, by Valve. Gamers will know this is the thing that loads Half-Life and Counterstrike etc.)
So... the problem isn't really solved as I first thought.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

System Idle Process means that the CPU isnt being used. Which show me that the game was not being responsive to the system. Just shutting down Steam usually doesnt work cause it has other resources still running. In the task manger there is still the Steam process even if you close it. Have to really force it to close.

Why you had to shut down the PSU to get this to stop is not a good sign. A simple restart should have taken care of it. I would start doing some stress tests to find out if any of your hardware is dying.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

Thanks that would be a good start. What stress tester would you recommend?
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

Well first i would use a PXU calculator to make sure your PSU is powerful enough for your system. From there i would start with MemTest86 LiveCD and run that to test the RAM. After those you can start on things like benchmark tests to see how well your CPU holds up.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

Is there software that can calculate the load on my PSU? I tried a web calculator where you fill in boxes, called eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5. It did say I'd want 458W.
I've burnt that MemTest85 CD, will try it.
I suppose I should buy a new PSU first off. But I'll try all the stress tests I can, first.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

It looks as if that is the best one. It comes highly recommended. But as for a software version i do not know.

PC Power Supply Load Calculator

Maybe that? But if the website said you need over 400 and you have a 400W that could explain a few things. But yeah try the stress tests.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-07-2008, 10:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: System Idle Process bad behaviour!

I will give that a go too. But is there no software that actually measures the load on your PSU throughout its use? Maybe I should just measure the power going to my CPU, mobo, graphics, RAM, hard drives and see if any of them get starved.
What's your favourite temp measuring software btw? I used to have a good one but deleted it and forgotten its name.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.