System Idle Process - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2006, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default System Idle Process

I've posted below on what i thought to be memory problems but I've definitely narrowed my problem search down to one thing. In my task manager list of processes I have the following:

System Idle Process System 99

I've seen this only once before and I had to completely reformat my hard drive. Reformatting is not an option because this is a business computer with very sensitive data that I can't backup. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
__________________

polakbob is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Repair your operating system.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

By doing what aside from reformatting and reinstalling the OS?
polakbob is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Windows XP Repair Install
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Interesting. Thanks for the site. I'll have to try that.
polakbob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.