System or Hardware problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2004, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default System or Hardware problem?

I have already reinstalled windows XP pro a few times and this problem still persists. When XP is freshly installed, the loading page (where theres a win XP logo and a blue bar running across) takes me to desktop almost immediately.

The problem starts when i start installing programs and drivers. The blue bar runs across much longer than before; from 2/3 times to about 8 times before finally reaching the desktop. At the moment i do not know whether theres something wrong with XP or my hardware.

I hope u guys and experts can help me solve this before i attempt to do any repairs/purchase. Thank you.


MSI 865PE Neo2
Pentium 2.4
256 mb ram
40Gb HDD 5400 rpm
__________________

rockstar is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Are you saying that when the first time you had xp with all the programs installed,it loaded fast?
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

wich programs and drivers?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

your system is fine. the more programs and drivers you install is the longer the boot process will be. do a windows update to find out if there is any driver updates that may use less resources on your pc.

is your hard drive ok. its a 5400rpm, maybe you should think about getting a newer faster hard drive.
is anything on your mobo integrated??
thirdly, you may want to get 256mb more memory just to be on the safe side.

but i think that your computer is fine.
xotix is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

xotix hit the nail on the head.
eipeks is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

DERRMC: yea, it was much faster when i just got the comp. with all the programs and stuff.

THEMAJOR: programs such as adobe acrobat reader, ad-aware, pc-cilin, quicktime, divx, codecs....
drivers such as printer drivers, graphic card drivers, sound card (integrated)...

XOTIX: the only thing integrated that im using is the sound card..

Oh yea, i forgot to mention also that sometimes when i boot up my PC, it freezes at the screen when its searching for the HDD...
either that or a message appears saying 'Missing operating system'. I would then hafta fiddle with the cables connecting to my HDD to get it to work.

Therefore, i really think thats something is very wrong....which makes the booting process a lil too slow....

Thank you for all your opinions...
rockstar is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

somethings wrong with your hard drive. it could be dying.
xotix is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Is there any way to confirm that the hard drive is dying or have problems? I was just wondering about the cables though....
rockstar is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

test it out in another machine. do a scandisk test. go to pcpitstop.com i think they have a hd test. or you could just try a diff hard drive in ur computer.
xotix is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 02:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Well, first of all, i dont haf a spare HD so i checked it in PCpitstop and found no problems with my HD. Scandisk also did not detect anything....
__________________

rockstar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.