System Crash While Gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2003, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default System Crash While Gaming

Lately I have been having problems while gaming. My system locks up completely and I have to re-boot using the reset button. I figured it may be my NVIDIA GeForce 3 Video Card, so I upgraded a cupla days ago to a NVIDEA GeForce4 Ti 4200. Nope, same thing.
Thing is would it help to put another RAM stick of 256 MB in my rig? Can Win 2000 handle 768 of RAM, or will that give me a problem? Full SysSpecs below.

Windows 2000 5.00.2195
AMD Athelon 1800+
512RAM
NVIDEA GeForce4 Ti 4200
Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo III
__________________

coda is offline  
Old 12-14-2003, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26
Default

What game? I use the same video card... haven't ever experienced any problems like that. I might reccomend that you go to nvidia.com and make sure you have the latest drivers for the card which happens to be 53.03, (I need to update aswell,) Make sure you got the lastest Microsoft Direct X, Make sure that you apply the updates to the game it self, sometimes graphics issues can be resolved simply by downloading the latest patch for the game. Let me know if this helps
__________________

cowticket is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
Default Well............

Well, I'm a gamer of long experience, so all the things you suggested have already been done! The games BTW, are CoD and DTR. That's not the issue though. I have all the latest patches, dirext X and drivers. I just want to know if 768 MB of RAM will work with Win 2000.
coda is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 05:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Windows 2000 can handle any amount of RAM provided your motherboard will support it, IMO adding RAM wouldn't do anything unless the crashing is caused by not having enough RAM, it might be your existing RAM that's the problem
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hey

Win 2000 will handle the ram but I would dought if that is your problem.It sounds like overheating.Have you checked your cpu heatsync & fan. Also what size is your power supply.After you reboot how long till it lockups again.
Later Splat
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.