System Administrators Check List

Mosa Tladi

Beta member
Hi Guys and Girls,

Not sure if this was already request but anyhow, I'm a new systems admin and kind of having a tough time so I need assistance with some basic things from the Guys who have been around please.

from your experience guys what are the Daily duties of a admin?
what preventative measures should I be aware of?
check list?
how do I design a security template before applying it on a live enviroment?

I just need enough info to get me started, please dont give me info from google I feel its better from people who have been in my shoes, it aint easy beeing a new admin.

Regards and thanks in advanced.
P.S dont wana use tools to manage because of security issues.

Umm, your job is System Admin and you don't know what to do? Sounds like you shouldn't have the job.

I honestly hate when people say that.

You can't always know everything about your job, especially when just starting out in the position. If you're coming from school or a different job role, you can't (and shouldn't) be expected to know everything.

What type of environment are you working in?

You should consider preventative maintenance highly, and have a schedule designed for the upkeep of each segment in your network.
That is basically ensuring the fans are clean, operating, dust buildup doesn't exist and so on.

Why not look into the old policies of the previous admin? Or get input from the lower tier workers in the department to help you go about things?

You really need to consider using tools and software to manage your network if this is a major network, anything from remote temp/hardware monitoring of each machine, down to AD. Everything is essentially a tool, so don't say you don't want to approach things from a software standpoint when that is one thing you must do as an administrator is use software to deploy updates and check things out.