System 32 is gone - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2007, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default System 32 is gone

A friend of mine told me today that his computer is no longer operating. Not correctly anyway. Apparently it says that system 32 is missing. He said he reinstalled the OS (which is Win98) but he's still getting that problem. So how would this problem be fixed? Reformatting the hard drive?
__________________

__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: System 32 is gone

Yes when he goes to install Win 98 tell him to format. Not the quick method either.

Also might want to suggest upgrading as Win 98 is no longer supported and is no longer gonna get any updates. So all the latest hacks again Windows that affect older versions like that will still work. No protection against them. Not even from M$.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: System 32 is gone

I had that exact same problem upgrading 98 to xp on my old comp all I had 2 do was format and clean install xp and it worked like a charm.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default Re: System 32 is gone

Alright, thanks. I'm going to format it for him since he's not very tech savvy. I can remember formatting my drive but it didn't take too long so it must've been the quick version. Mind linking me to the long one?
__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: System 32 is gone

There isnt a link. There should be the option when you setup to either do a Format (Quick) or format. Just like that. Choose the format. Depending on the size of the drive is how long it shall take. A 20GB hard drive should not take long. But since it is 98 it wont recognize anything more than 32GB or 1230GB depending on his BIOS, and version of 98.

I dont remember the exact setup method of 98 as i havent used it in like 6-7 years. But that should be how it is done. If not you can always go to bootdisc.com and downlaod a 98 setup disc and use the dos prompt from the fdisk command to format.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
DarkMassacre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Default Re: System 32 is gone

Ah that's what you meant. I understand now. I thought you meant there was a longer method to formatting drives than the way I did it. Probably is, then again I could've used the long version. Should have anyway. I can't remember, it's been about three years since I last did it.
__________________

__________________
And if we fall, we all fall, and we fall alone
DarkMassacre is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.