sysprep help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default sysprep help

I want to creat an image to use with a few computers running OEM versions of XP Pro and Office 2003. Is there an option to manually put in the OEM keys for both XP pro and Office 2003 before or after I push the image to the pc's. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

neilsams is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it should be in there already...after you installed XP, you already have the key installed and all the software keys too. How are you doing the images?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

sysprep is usually used for volume licences so you dont hafta put the keys in.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
it should be in there already...after you installed XP, you already have the key installed and all the software keys too. How are you doing the images?
sysprep runs a minisetup on the first boot after restoring the image. this regenerates a sid for the system along with allowing you to set config normally set on a typical install.

you can automate this process by creating a sysprep.inf on a floppy disk and insert it as the system boots for the first time.

if you do not have a entry for the cdkey in the sysprep.inf the system will ask you for one. But the office install will have the key you installed it with. You could leave a copy of the office install on the drive that you are imaging tho. Then after the sysprep is complete, run the office install.
office politics is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I am using a master image from one computer and putting it on several computers. What I want to do is input the OEM CD keys from each individual computer for XP pro and Office 2003 once I have imaged the computers and then skip activation. I do not have a volume license version of these products, but I do own OEM versions of all of the software for each computer.
neilsams is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.