Sys Restore won't work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2007, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Sys Restore won't work

Ok I hope someone can help me out here.

I just updated my Win XP to SP2. And I'm having a massive amount of problems with it because now half of my programs won't work, not even Microsoft's own Internet Explorer (though oddly enough Firefox has no problems running).

Anyways, I tried to do a System Restore, but System Restore won't start either. When I click on the shortcut absolutely nothing happens. I tried running the file directly from the folder and it's not working. I tried disabling it, restarting, then enabling it, and that hasn't helped. I tried running it from Safe Mode, no luck. Tried running it from command prompt in Safe Mode and no luck, either.

So I need to somehow fix the system restore, and restore my computer back to the time before I desided to update to SP2.

Can someone please help me.....?
__________________

Ares82 is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: Sys Restore won't work

Try repairing windows with the CD. I'm pretty sure all your updates are kept when you do this.
__________________

ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Sys Restore won't work

You mean use the Windows CD to repair? It will work even though I have SP2 installed and the CD is for Windows XP SP1?
Ares82 is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Sys Restore won't work

1. Back up important data before removing sp2
2. Go to uninstall programs
3. Remove sp2
4. Cross your fingers and hope it worked.

Good luck
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Sys Restore won't work

OK well after holding my fingers crossed, uninstall seems to have done the trick. Everything seems to be working for now.

Thank you
Ares82 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Restore does not work... bagelred Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-12-2007 12:56 PM
What's your work schedule like? Ethereal_Dragon Off Topic Discussion 21 08-29-2007 09:54 AM
Windows Mobile 4.2 Work and Internet Connection SandyP84 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-21-2007 09:52 AM
System Restore! phantom555 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-08-2007 07:34 AM
System restore petris Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.