Sys C - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2003, 06:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default Sys C

Hey all I have win 98se and the power went out today because of a storm..while my pc was on...when i turned it back on it went to invalid system disk please replace disk and strike any key..ther was no disk or cd in the I restarted it several times only to come to that i got my boot disk out and ran scan disk etc..all can up i went ot the help section and got the the point of sys c which i did and now my pc comes on and goes to the c prompt. what am I to do next?

95neongirl is offline  
Old 06-03-2003, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

well if you can get it to the C:\ prompt... all you have to do is type win. this will lauch windows.

A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 06-03-2003, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20

ok thanks..I will try that!

but how to make it skip the c thing and load windows automatically?

95neongirl is offline  
Old 06-04-2003, 02:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 223

you can write out a simple one at the prompt that is there when you boot.

copy con autoexec.bat

prompt $p$g



The copy con autoexec.bat starts the creation, and ^z finishes. The ^z is an end of file mark, get it by using cntrl-z or press f6 key.

But check to see if you have an autoexec.bak and config.bak, or .000 .001 etc

good luck!

There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home.
President, Digital Equipment, 1977
chalk is offline  
Old 06-04-2003, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20

I will look for those files...but now I have this problem on start up

Bad command or file name
Path not found - :\COMMAND.COM
File not found - extract.exe
File not found - readme.txt
Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2....

win did not work any other suggestions?

95neongirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.