Symantec vs Mcafee - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2005, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Question Symantec vs Mcafee

Has anybody tried the new 2006 versions of Norton anti virus or Mcafee anti virus? i am trying to decide which is the better buy for my pc. i know from experience that mcafee uses less resources than norton but i used mcafee virus scan 8.0 and it refused to stop showing the annoying splash screen at logon. i thus continued to use norton 2005 anti virus.


any experiences to share?
__________________

__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Symantic a one sided competition.



Symantic DOES NOT = Norton
Get Symantic
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

i always go for Mcafee because it doesnt slow your computer down like most other anti-virus programs
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Regardless you want the best protection there is by both definition and real time. I'm not sure on Mcafee's definitions but Symantec's real time is unrivaled.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I use Nod32 or avast
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

Tyler1989 does have a good point. i have been using norton 2005 pro for the past year and it has blocked alot of threats. i also know about symantec antivirus but i never really considered it since its built for servers/networks and costs about 10 times norton
but has anybody ever tried symantec antivirus ona standalone desktop? whats the performance like? does it keep asking for network resources or can it work by itself?
__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Can't say I've personally used it but I know my school uses it and it works great.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

oh yea i used avast on my xp pro x64 edition because there was none other that could work on the x64 edition. but where i have the choice i rather stick with a reputable name instead of avast. i never even knew about avast until i googled in search of an x64 compatible antivirus. ok so i have 2 standalone desktops but i am only concerned for the 32bit one at the moment.
__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

yea my school uses symantec too cuz its for a network and it does work good. this makes me wonder about something else. i am wondering if i can use symantec on xp x64 edition, because i know that the x64 edition is different from xp 64-bit.
__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 10:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

Tyler : then again i have a slew of system hangs with microsoft outlook 2003 and i think xp pro runs too slow, i see that u are running vista. how is it? U reckon i should just upgrade to vista?
__________________

__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.