Symantec NoNAV for Norton CE 10.x - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to Greyhame Send a message via AIM to Greyhame
Default Symantec NoNAV for Norton CE 10.x

I am in the process of removing the abortion known as Symantec Norton Antivirus CE 10.1 from my network.

Symantec support has provided me a Verbose program called NoNAV to remove it. The problem I have is that I have 8 remote sites and about 300 machines and need this done ASAP and can't be going to each computer to run this.

Does anyone know of a version of this that runs in a winXP command line environment?

Symantec told me the F off essentially and that I'm on my own. Any method that can get this piece of worthless Symantec crap off these computers is welcom advice.
__________________

Greyhame is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

if your using a login script for you clients, like im using script logic, you can set it in there that on logon to run the NONAV and your users will do the work for you.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Symantec NoNAV for Norton CE 10.x

I feel your pain!

I too am trying to uninstall CE 10.1.4.4000

unfortunately - since our support eneded with symantec 4 months ago - I can't get them to give me nonav... and I am unable to find one yet that works.

Did yours work? if so - can I have a copy?

Thanks

Dave
dave_nicholson is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Symantec NoNAV for Norton CE 10.x

Hmm...we have a rather large deployment of 10.1.6.6000. Around 12,000 PC's corporate wide. Really don't have any issues with it that I am aware of. It seems to do what we ask it to do.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Symantec NoNAV for Norton CE 10.x

we've had a real bad 'go' of symantec products in the past year or so...

the products are okay - not great - and the support... DON't get me started!

anyway

we've moved away from BE11D - after a catastrophic failure and couldn't restore from it (we now use CommVault) ... and now we are migrating to Sophos for AV... as soon as I figure out SMS - I'll get rid of Ghost.
dave_nicholson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.