Switching My OS Over... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2005, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default Switching My OS Over...

I am getting a new build, but I am switching my HD on it, it has Windows XP Home on it. Now, I have the restore/installation disk handy, but it's custom made for Dell (ugh) I dunno if that retarded DELL logo is BIOS or windows. I need to know if my comp crashes I can just re-install XP w/out having to worry about Dell getting pissed or Microsoft.

<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*

i wouldnt think so you oaid for you own it its your so i dont see y not.

Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 01:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

You cannot use the Windows XP recovery disk for another computer. That disc is a Dell proprietary disc......
INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Thats true. IT is a Dell Disc but it still has all drivers and everything needed to install. It isnt a good idea to use it to install on another computer since it is looking for the components install by Dell. But you can use it with another Dell computer. Unfornatuly i know this because i know some guys that did it at work. Turned out alright for them.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 02:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*

dam sorry i was wrong man dell locks everything up.
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.