swapping motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default swapping motherboard

Would there be any major problems if i wanted to swap an old 1 ghz Pentium III M to a newer mb and processor with out having to reinstall on the hard drive.
__________________

benzimm86 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah. You need to reinstall the OS or you'll have problems.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

If you are using XP then you will at least have to reactivate. Reguardless you could always try it (backup first) and if it doesn't work then reinstall and put the data back on.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It will most likely work fine. If you run into problems, do a repair from your OS disk.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

It will function if your new motherboard features the same chipset as your old motherboard. However, we recommend you to do a clean install since:

1) Your Booting time into Windows will increase largely
2) You can expect a myriad of problems and BSOD in any way, wheather your MotherBoard got recognised or not.
The Borg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.