svchost.exe has generated errors?!?! (Windows 2000 Pro) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2003, 05:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to Cims
Question svchost.exe has generated errors?!?! (Windows 2000 Pro)

I just formatted and installed a fresh copy of Windows 2000 Professional. Everything went well, I soon noticed this Program error which happend while i was on the internet downloading drivers, it said quote:

"svchost.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows. You need to restart the program. An error log is being created."

I thought it would go away if I updated my drivers but it still hasn't. It usually pops up within 5-10 minutes after a boot up. I am totaly clueless on this one. I have not yet downloaded the SP4 package and etc from windows update. I try to but that dang error comes up and the update download haults.

Please help me out, thanks a lot
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reallywasn\'tdrunkyet.jpg (53.5 KB, 116 views)
__________________

Cims is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 19
Default

sounds like you have the blaster worm.

see the "About W32.Blaster.Worm" thread as well as the "Blaster Patch for 2000 SP1" thread
__________________

laneatkins is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well SVCHOST.EXE is the file (well one of the files) that MSBLASTER attacks, but it doesn't infect the file, it just closes it and that's what causes infected computers to shut down

well just for a laugh i edited the picture
isn't this what you want to see:
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 02:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

hang on its here now

couldn't attach it when i edited
Attached Images
File Type: jpg corsair1.jpg (12.9 KB, 96 views)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.