Svchost - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2006, 11:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default Svchost

Well, it fails on startup and tells me I can terminate or debug. Error: blablabla cannot be "read" type of error. If I debug, I can use my computer but it's slow, if I click OK, Windows blocks and I have to restart, and it starts all over again. I have also realised that if I try to play a song in Windows Media Player, it gives me an error saying the file cannot be played because there is a problem with my sound device, that there might be no sound driver installed. What's weird is that I still hear all the Windows sounds.


I heard it might be the blaster virus, tried the cleaning tool, nothing came up. I read previous threads about this file on CF, and no it's not SCVHOST which apparently is a virus. So, why is my SVCHOST failing?

I am doing a virus scan, and attached is a HJT log. I am also updating Windows eXtremely Pissed.



PLEASE CHECK IT OUT

______|
______|
______|
______|
______v
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (14.2 KB, 34 views)
__________________

The Astroman is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

EDIT:

Problem was fixed by deactivating automatic updates... Stupid Windows!!
__________________

The Astroman is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so if you re-enable it it will do it again?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Probably, but I'm not gonna try
The Astroman is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 05:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Default

ha ha ha ... we got this message alot in hp and we found solution for it ...

you will be in need to do the following

1- go to Start - Run - services.msc

Disable Automatic Updates and Background Intelligent Transfer Service

2- Restart the computer

3- get Windows updates from MS website

4- Restart the computer and enable the services that we have disabled

Hooray .... thanks for HP tech solutions
HPtechsupport is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.