Suggestions Needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Suggestions Needed

I have 3 computers I'm wanting to clone to a 250 GB external HD but not sure the best way to go about it, should I partition the external HD in to 3 partitions, 1 for each computer? or....

Suggestions please of how you would do it.
Sorry if this is a stupid question noob here.

Appreciate any help.
__________________

TKF is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

Do you want to boot off of the drive with each image as 3 separate "computers" or are you just backing them up? If you'r ejust backing them up, just image the drives, and just rename the HDD image files so they're different from each other. If you're going to try to boot from the drive, then yes, partition the drive.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 09-30-2007, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

Thanks carnageX
To have backups, I'm cloning them just to be safe in case of a major catastrophe...would it be best to clone them as bootable?,
Advantages/Disadvantages?
For 2 of the computers I only have upgrade Disks.
TKF is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

Cloning just takes the image as it is now and has it saved up for that rainy day. Imaging does the same thing. So really what you want to do is backup with increment updates. That way when you make a change or get a update that will be added to teh backup. This way you wont have a image from 9/30/07 and then your PC crashes in Feb and you have to resort back to Sept.

I only suggest this option if you do make many changes and file changes. Liek word documents.

Also stom software like Acronis backs up the whole drive that the OS is installed on. So if you have it installed on a 320 GB drive it will want to back all that up. So a 250GB external wouldnt work.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

Thanks Makaveli213
The backup would probably be the best way to go due to the size needed for imaging,and to keep everything fresh,wasn't sure how that worked,thought it just imaged the data.
If I use the external HD for just backups could I create a zip file for a full backup (each computer) and then add increment backups to each file?
You can probably tell I backup regularly

Thanks for the help and suggestions
TKF is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

I know with Norton Ghost you can compress the image files (but be wary that too much compression,or any compression at all, can result in part or all of the backup image not working). And I know that Ghost only backs up data, and not the entire empty space. I hae a 320GB drive which I hav eeverything installed on, and I used a 160GB drive as a backup drive. I just make GHost images of my C: drive on the 320GB, and use normal compression method, and it backs it up on the 160GB no probs.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

carnageX
I,m probably just going to use that external HD for backups and try to make a full backup of each computer and put it in its own file and add to them as needed. if possible.
The cloning software I was going to use was from the HD website its a version of acronis I think.
I was going to try to reinstall XP on one of the computers that is why I thinking image I only have a upgrade disk for it and if the reinstall didn't work I would still have and OS image to put back on it

Thanks for the suggestions and help
TKF is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 12:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Suggestions Needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Also stom software like Acronis backs up the whole drive that the OS is installed on. So if you have it installed on a 320 GB drive it will want to back all that up. So a 250GB external wouldnt work.
Man, that drives me crazy. that why I went back to drive image 7.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building Gaming PC. Tips Needed. ( im lost ) AhBeng New Systems | Building and Buying 40 09-21-2007 09:38 AM
Suggestions on New Build grimmly New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-02-2007 07:13 PM
error message: load needed DLLs for kernel Herringtrader Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-11-2007 09:57 AM
game suggestions valcan222 PC Gaming 8 06-07-2007 05:24 PM
Building New PC! Need Suggestions zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 36 05-20-2007 08:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.