This sucks (WinXP Home logon) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 02:15 AM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ive got client for microsoft networks. i dont think that is installed b default...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:15 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I don't use rar remember warez I just learned yesterday there is a password protection on it. Anyways Warez please take a hint of sarcasm but yes I'd like to think it's pretty secure.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:17 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Talking

well i couldnt tell any sarcasm with you...im not sure if you are serious or joking or whatever...so i took it as you were serious.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:23 AM   #24 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I had a couple of instances on customer computers where the win 2000 logon hijacked the computer and it wouldn't let you switch back to auto logon. somehow client services for Netware got installed and was the culprit behind it. then nobody could find it in the add remove programs because it was hiding in network connection properties.

Maybe somebody were spying on them. I dunno.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 02:25 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

anything is possible these days..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:26 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default

im gonna try the powertoys but not only did the useraccount2 not work because its windows xp home, but the second one did absolutely nothing (it installed, but just didnt do anything to fix the problem).
Matth3w is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

im pretty sure control userpasswords2 works with home version because i had to use it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:50 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default

no it specifically says it wont...tells me to use the thing thats already in the user passwords control item. but i fixed it with that autologin registry key (one of the first posts). im sure i didnt actually "fix" it, but i just changed the default name to matthew and it auto logs in.
Matth3w is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 12:59 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

finally....didnt you try that first?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 01:02 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Default

no i tried those little vb scripts you posted first...somehow i actually missed that first post.
__________________

Matth3w is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.