SU command in ms cmd prompt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2003, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Default SU command in ms cmd prompt

Hi,

Can anyone help me?

I have a batch script that alters a registry setting,problem is it needs to run on a machine where the user does not have admin rights.

When the script runs the registry change is denied.

SO - How do I use the su command?

if i do :su username
I get :Password?

Obviously the user doesn't know the admin password and I'm not gonna tell him.

So how do I feed the password into the script and keep it hidden.
Whats the syntax?

Many thanks.
__________________

babaton is offline  
Old 08-27-2003, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

should be SU password
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 08-28-2003, 05:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Nope,

no matter what I put after su I get a prompt for password.

The syntax for the su comand is :

su <user> "cmdline" [domain] [winsta\]desktop] [options]

No mention of password there.

I know It can be done as I have done it before but can't remember how.
I know that I referenced a file with the password in it.

Cheers.
babaton is offline  
Old 08-28-2003, 07:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so it's asking for the password, and you know what it is but you don't want to tell him, he doesn't have to know you can type it in

put in "su username" press enter
then put in password then enter
it should work
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-28-2003, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Default

Yeah,well obviously that would be cool except its not just one user its more like 20 and the script runs on login so I'm not gonna be around to type in admin passwords for everyone all day.

come on some one must have seen it done....
babaton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.