Style XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2005, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Style XP

has anyone here used style xp? is it any good?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

use to, now i use windowblinds.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 467
Default

I tried them for a while... They do what they are supposed to do, but it just ate up my resources, and bogged my computer down. I'm weaning myself out of windows now though.
__________________
TheRecluse is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 08:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

StyleXP is a resource eater. Bogs you down and doesnt always work the way you want it to. Some skins just dont act right or work right. I have found after useing it for 2 years now that Windowsblinds is far better and doesnt eat you resources. Espically if they are low in the first place.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 128
Default

i used style xp it was pretty cool i'm not sure about whether or not it uses up resources or not but I think it probably did.
i think that it is ok but don't put on a boot screen i did and i ended up in a really sticky situation i changed the screen and then when the trial period ended i was stuck with the screen and it completely replaced my ntoskernl file ( i think) anyway i booted up the computer and it said something like this " windows cannot start because the following file is missing you need to reinstall the file from your installer disc"
i mean yeah sure i could have used the disc but i didn't have it my brother did so i was stuck with the problem i got rid of it by copying the file onto a disc of another computer but still ever since that i wouldn't go near a boot screen (well i still have that bootscreen)

i realise this hasn't made much sense mainly because i wasn't completely sure of what was going on but just take my advice.
dont use a boot screen
they are technically sound but well they're like a jack in the box with too many easy to turn cranks.
Death Row is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

I use it and find that it isn't that big of a hog. You can also tell it to not use any resources...although it still runs in the background.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It runs in the background but it takes resources to get it up and running. While it says it doesnt use resources it still does or your windows would go back to normal.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.