Stupid question time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2008, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 137
Default Stupid question time

If I downloaded some software and scanned it with it with nod32 superantisoftware pro and malwarebytes antomalware and it didn't find any harmful things. When I went to install the software, super antispyware stopped a few harmful things, 1 being vundi. I quarenteened anything it found and removed it after that.

The question I have for you all is it safe to use the software after all this or should I remove it and try and find another one?

Also, Is it ok to use nod32 smart security on my home computer if it is business edition even if the icon in my icon tray is blue?

cheers
__________________

mossy1881 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,578
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Stupid question time

Run a different spyware program such as Spyware Blaster... Or spybot search and destroy..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Silverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Default Re: Stupid question time

Hello,

If it found a virus in the program I would try one of two things;

Getting the data from another source
Find another piece of software that does what you request
__________________
Have I been helpful? Consider giving me a Kudos

Silverlord is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: Stupid question time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Run a different spyware program such as Spyware Blaster... Or spybot search and destroy..
and after that if one of those programs doesn't find anything, is it OK to use the previously infected software?

cheers
mossy1881 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Stupid question time

Hello,

If NOD32 catches something it is NEVER good to use it. No matter how many apps you run it thru to check and see if it is clean. It is NEVER a good idea to run any software that ANY Virus scanner catches a problem with. EVER.

This is the internet. With 400,000 different downloads for every piece of software out there. Find a better copy. Why take chances with your system? You will jst be back here asking how to remove the infection if you run it. but in the end it is your choice. If you wish to take the chance and run infected software we cant stop you no matter how many scanners you run it through.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: Stupid question time

Mak213, I would never run an unsafe software if there were questions about it if anyone such as yourself say it is not adviseable. That is the reason I post here.

I do have another question for you though. I just installed another version of NOD32 security suite without a problem. I then clicked on update and it came back saying "virus signature update" invalid user name and password. Why would it say this when I used the same user name and password to install it?

CHEERS
mossy1881 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Stupid question time

Hello,

That would be because the username and password used was blacklisted by NOD32 and Eset for being illegit. Plus if you used a username and password for a NOD32 Antivirus or Business editiion for Eset Smart Security Suite it would not work. Different versions have different passwords and usernames.

Check to make sure that 1. It is exactly the same from the email sent by them. 2. That it is exactly the same version as listed in the email.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid PSU question Mr. LL New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-26-2007 11:20 PM
STUPID Server question... OnlyCurious Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 12-26-2007 01:16 PM
system build question jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 54 07-22-2007 11:12 PM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 09:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.