Stupid parents.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2006, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Angry Stupid parents....

Well my parents are offically dumb. They were surfing on my computer and some how got the computer infected to the point where it just shut down and wouldnt boot. Lucky I remembered the windows repair utility on cd and fixed the boot. When I logged in the computer was flipping out telling me a majority of stuff is infected and **** has multiplied, basically just reinstall windows. LMAO! So now I have deleted alot of **** and was wondering if theres any way to make sure I got rid of everything and as far as I know the only thing I cant get rid of is a file called newdotnet6_38.dll. Someone help me!
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Well if all your virus scans tell you its fine, it should be fine.

How in the world did you even get a virus from surfing the net, shouldn't your virus program have warned your parents before they downloaded it?
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

New.net is a browser Hijacker, you need to get rid of this.

Take a look at this article.
http://articles.networktechs.com/400-p1.php
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

yeah youd think, idk i cant delete the **** thing no matter what. JESUS! I tried the guide but theres no system32 hents its for an older os and besides I cant even move it.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

What OS is this on?

Have you tried removing it in DOS yet? Or using a boot disk to get into dos and remove it?
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

n/m finally got it going to run vius checker again to make sure its all gone!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 04:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default Re: Stupid parents....

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Well my parents are offically dumb.

So are mine.

They read books all the time on how to use a computer.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

lmao oh last question how can i check that all of what happened is gone?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to socom36252
Default

go to run in start menu and type in "msconfig" click on the startup tab and it shows all programs that automatically start up when you turn on your comp and log on your name. make sure that non of files you deleted of viruses found are on that list. i have had to do that to stop them from starting up.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 6000+ X2
M2N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 7900 gt superoverclocked
WinFast TV Tuner
2 gb of Crucial DDR2 800
120 gb sata2 and 250 sata2
dvd-rw
dvd/cd-rw
500 watt psu
Windows XP Home
socom36252 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 11:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

i always run http://housecall.trendmicro.com/ after i get rid of viruses, it will pick up anything that is still there, including any spywares that IT may have. Good luck to you, i hate viruses and all hackers associated with them.............................................


Techtim
__________________

techtim is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.