Stuck with FireFox - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2005, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Angry Stuck with FireFox

I cannot get the HTM and HTML files to display the Opera icon.

I uninstalled FF and the icons remain.

I already tried folder options and selected the Opera icon, but it didn't change.

How can I fix this?

How can I permanently uninstall FireFox? It looks like I need some kind of removal tool or a format, cause the damn app left lots of traces all over my docs&settings folders.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Have you tried removing it from the registry keys?
Use the find tool there and type in firefox or mozilla and do some searches to remove those keys.


~ Fawks
__________________

Red Fox is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

OK, fixed it. I deleted all reg-keys, then did the folder options thing again.

Thanks for all help.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 01:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Man, I HATE trying to uninstall a program 100%. There is always a file that you eventually come across from the program you uninstalled like a year ago.
Regulus is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Man that sucks that your stuck with the fastest browser available! Opera was so much slower... and it has an ad bar.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default



All icons are FireFox again. Damnit.

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 06:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try a program called Desktop Architect, you can change a lot of the icons windows uses
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.