strategy games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2003, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default strategy games

Could any one recommend a good strategy game.

It must be 100% XP compatable.

This is to replace Empire Earth which will not work, so something like EE.

I have Red Alert 2, but want to play over a local network which RA2 will not.

Any Ideas?

PC spec.
1.2GHz Athalon.
512 Meg ram
64Meg geforce 2
XP home
__________________

__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 11:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default

Here's a kick *** one IMHO - Rise of Nations or even Warcraft 3 if you haven't played it yet.
__________________

Blueman is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Why won't your RA2 play over a network? Just make sure you have IPX installed in your network protacols.

Once you do that you'll be able to play on a LAN.

And WC3 kicks all forms of ***. I suck at it, but still enjoy it.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

damn str8, WC3, best strategy game out there!!! lol i like the "WC3 kicks all forms of ***" part
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

WC3 is ok, but definitely not the best RTS.

IMO you should try out C&C Generals
__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

I have been considering C&C generals.
I shall look into it.

Cheers
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-08-2003, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

downloaded demo of generals "2 hours"

Failed to run .. bombed out to desk top. Been there before.

So maybe try warcraft3, its also cheap.
__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Old 10-08-2003, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

C&C Generals is amazing! Its the greatest
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 10-08-2003, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Slam'n Systems
C&C Generals is amazing! Its the greatest
I agree, the game is awesome.

Quote:
Originally posted by clem556
downloaded demo of generals "2 hours"

Failed to run .. bombed out to desk top. Been there before.

So maybe try warcraft3, its also cheap.
That's your system, not the game
__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 05:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Default

True,

may have to replace graphics card.

Any comments on geforce 4 128MB?
__________________

__________________
System Spec

Soltek SL75 KAV (mobo)
AMD Atholon 1.2 GHz
512Mb Ram
IBM Deskstar 61.5Gb 7200rpm
300W hec psu
XP Home 2002 sp1
IE 6.0
Monitor CTX 17\"
Teak CDR/RW (cdw5e8)
LG DVD ROM (drd8120B)
Floppy dd

64Mb Geforce 4 mx440 8x AGP (AGP)
PCI 1 empty (space for cooling/large heatsink on above)
PCI 2 Sound blaster 4.1 digital
PCI 3 IMB intel(R)pro100 network card
PCI 4 Pinnacle dv200/300 ieee1394
PCI 5 empty
ISA empty
clem556 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.