Strange Pop-ups! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default Strange Pop-ups!

Ive been recently getting these pop-ups which say: WINDOWS to USER, and they change every time but they tell me about websites i should go to to clean my pc, which ive gone to, but its all stuff they are trying to get me to buy, they arent internet pop-ups they are "messenger service" pop-ups, i was wondering if anybody knows how to stop these? Ive ran spybot, ad-aware etc. and they still dont stop! please help. P.S- im not sure where i should have posted this thread, i apologize if it is in the wrong category.
__________________

Cold123 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Start>run>services.msc

Rightclick "Messenger" and disable it.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

thx; all better
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Do you have ADSL or cable? Do you use a router? Just curious.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

adelphia powerlink, directly to modem.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Default

try looking a spyware dection and antivirus
viper123456789 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

And a hardware firewall. Your cheap 30$ router allows you ALOT more ptotection from this kind of stuff, and allows you to share the internet between computers
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.