Strange message at startup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2003, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 153
Send a message via ICQ to belveder Send a message via Yahoo to belveder
Default Strange message at startup?

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what this message means please :

Parser Message
Value Creation Failed "At Line 45

I've just started getting a box with this message in it everytime I boot up. Have to press cancel on the box 5 or 6 times for it to go past it. Then it goes to the log on / password screen which I have never had up before either.

I am using XP Pro with SP2
__________________

belveder is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default Re: Strange message at startup?

Quote:
Originally posted by belveder
I am using XP Pro with SP2
Is there a XP SP2. I was only aware of SP1.
__________________

__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default Re: Strange message at startup?

Quote:
Originally posted by belveder
I was wondering if anyone could tell me what this message means please :

Parser Message
Value Creation Failed "At Line 45

I've just started getting a box with this message in it everytime I boot up. Have to press cancel on the box 5 or 6 times for it to go past it. Then it goes to the log on / password screen which I have never had up before either.

I am using XP Pro with SP2
hmmm.... that is really weird. I'll tell you what, I will do a search and see if I can come up with something for you.
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

its gotta be something in the startup of your system, you can do this:

Either make a new account in WinXP and see if it fixes it.

Or go into msconfig and get rid of what YOU KNOW YOU DON'T NEED. Make sure you don't take something important out of the startup. It may be a program in there not working right. You don't need all of that stuff to startup anyway.
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

This might help you out: http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com...omments&id=152

BTW, if you really are using an alpha of SP2, I would reccommend a reformat. Using alpha software is generally not a good idea unless you like encountering bugs on a regular basis
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 153
Send a message via ICQ to belveder Send a message via Yahoo to belveder
Default

Thanks for all the replies, I already run with the bare minimal at startup so I was lucky with that one lol.

About SP2, I didn't know there was one either, but I just formatted the day before yesterday, when I did that I went to the M$ site, updated XP and made an image. Went to uninstall Windowblinds and saw XP SP2 in the Add-Remove.

That site was very interesting, I will try what they say out, as I have just installed Style XP and put a new log on graphic in.

Thanks again
belveder is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 05:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 604
Default

Your Welcome
__________________
Search TF <b>before</b> posting!<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
randy is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default Same here

Even though im not an expert on XP PRO, as i only have XP Home, but when i used LogonStudio, it would do the same thing. The only trick i know is to just revert to the old startup screen. I know this defeats the purpose, but that program used to do the same thing, and doing the above is the only remedy.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.