strange install problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2005, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Default strange install problem

ok this is REALLY wierd but .... im trying to install Leisure Suit Larry on my PC but when i start the install process the install wizard opens for the Battlefield 2 demo ... which i THOUGHT i deleted off my PC months ago (i have the battlefield 2 full game now) i had these problems before with ATI Catalyst Control Center opening when i tried to install other games but i found the CCC setup.exe file and deleted it and the problem was solved but i cant figure out what to do about this battlefield 2 demo so if anyone has had this problem or knows the filename of the bf2 demo setup program please help me out here thanks in advance for any help
__________________

JoeJ615 is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

insert cd, close any wizards that autorun, open my computer, open to cd rom drive, find the installer msi/exe (prolly install or setup, msi or exe), run the install app.

is the bf2 demo in add/remove programs?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Default

ok thanks alot that worked :-) ... but no BF2 demo isnt in my add/remove programs list, weird stuff but at least i can install around the problem now lol thanks alot
JoeJ615 is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

you prolly upgraded the demo to full version. it would be wise to uninstall bf2 and install only the full version
office politics is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Default

no i uninstalled the demo a month or two before i ever even got the full version that's what baffles me
JoeJ615 is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

what you could do. open task manager to processes. insert the cd and have that installer start up. try to watch closely so you find the name of the installer. run a search on your HD for the file and delete it.

might as well dump your temp files while your at it. start | programs | system tools | disk cleanup
__________________

office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.