Stop Scandisk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2004, 10:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default Stop Scandisk

Is there any way to prevent scandisk from running when I turn on my computer after I do an improper shutdown. I'm running Windows ME.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 11:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

You can cancel it.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 164
Default

to get scandisk disabled do this :

Open your registry and find or create the key create a new Binary value, or modify the existing value, called "DisableScandiskOnBoot" and set it 01 to the value data .
Exit your registry, you may need to restart or log out of Windows for the change to take effect.

once you want to enable scandisk, just set 00 instead of 01.

cheers.
__________________
\"you cant hold a good techie down\"
petogaz is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 164
Default

apologize !!!
i forgot the key. here is the key (way to add the value that i indicated before) : HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\FileSystem
__________________
\"you cant hold a good techie down\"
petogaz is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

win ME is a pain when it come to scandisk I had the same problem it would run every time I started my comp whether I shutdown properly or not it turned out to be a bad HDD
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Thanks for the tip petogaz, that helps.
aye29 is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Jiminy777
Default

You can also go to MSCONFIG> Advance>Select "Disable Scandisk after bad shutdown"
Jiminy777 is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 09:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u
Default

you can also add the line AutoScan in msdos.sys :

[Paths]
WinDir=C:\WINDOWS
WinBootDir=C:\WINDOWS
HostWinBootDrv=C

[Options]
BootMulti=1
BootGUI=1
;
;The following lines are required for compatibility with other programs.
;Do not remove them (MSDOS.SYS needs to be >1024 bytes).
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxa
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxb
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxc
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxd
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxe
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxf
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxg
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxh
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxi
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxj
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxk
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxm
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxn
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxo
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxp
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxq
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxr
;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxs
DoubleBuffer=1
AutoScan=0
WinVer=4.10.1998
param4u is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 67
Default

Yes, you can cancel it or disable it (as above), but you really should let it run, at least once after every several crashes, so that it can clean up the bits and pieces.

Hedda Lora
HeddaLora is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

What exactly does scandisk do?
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.