Stop office applications accessing internet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2003, 05:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Red face Stop office applications accessing internet

Is there a way I can stop office applications accessing the internet - outlook, word, etc? I don't want to do this for all client machines so don't wanna go near the firewall. Is there a way of doing this locally on certain machines?

I also want users to only be able to access one site when they start IE, this can be done in kiosk mode as far as I know. This is the reason for not allowing office apps to access internet but it wont affect all users. Any help / ideas?
__________________

maximusimo is offline  
Old 09-26-2003, 10:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Get a firewall program for each system. Then grant them permission to connect to your network but not the programs that you want.

Or figure out what port these programs are trying to communicate through and close it.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-26-2003, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Default

can you recommend any?
maximusimo is offline  
Old 09-26-2003, 03:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Zone Alarm or Black Ice Defender would be my recommendations.

Zone Alarm is a little more easy to use but EVERY time a different executable from an application tries to access the internet, it will prompt you and ask if it is ok. You can set it to "remember" this application's settings....but it still can be very annoying.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-30-2003, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 30
Default

I use ZA too. It's also a great way to find out if any spy-ware is trying to dial home.
cosmosis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.