Stop error in XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2008, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sometimes in Ohio, sometimes Indiana
Posts: 57
Default Stop error in XP

I've been recently getting windows stop errors in XP. they developed when I did 3 things. 1) fought a large virus attack, 2) Installed a new stick of ram, and 3) updated my Video card's drivers.

and I know, those are 3 very very common reasons why my PC should be having stop errors.

so here are the specs:

Windows XP Professional
Motherboard: Asus P5NSLI
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86gh
Ram: 2 sticks of Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667
Video Card: Geforce 7900GS (256mb)
Power supply: Antec 450 Watt
IEEE 1394 card
4 hard drives (2 IDE and 2 SATA)
all inside an Antec Sonata II case
(I know its probably too much info)

anyways, I run the system fine for about a year now and I start to get a bad virus attack which lasted about 2 weeks but I got it all cleared out (with lots of help from Oasis) but right at the beginning of that Steam told me that my graphics driver was out of date, figures it was I had not updated for some time (about 6 months) so I updated, later that day I installed a new stick of ram that I got for Christmas, exact same model as the first and it is listed in my mobo's manual as compatible. so I fight the viruses and get them out. A Few days later I play some of Portal and boom BSOD. I am not sure what message it displayed, I didn't like my PC having all the power running through it with it not working properly. so I restarted. and then I go to play some Counter-Strike:Source and boom, BSOD, again I was dumb and didn't write the stuff down. so I just let it sit for a couple of days thinking about it. It came to me that it might be the new drivers because I completely played through Half-Life 2 episode 2 before I installed it without any crashes. so I went and researched, (of course I have no Idea what driver I was running) I got NGO's tweeked Forceware 92.91 driver because thats what lots of people said was the best. and that has quieted most all of my problems, been running it for a week now and it seems really great. yesterday I was talking to 3 people on Trillian, had 2 instances of firefox running one of them with about 4 tabs and the other with 2, and I was working in Photoshop, I was editing a picture that was 1600x1200 at 300dpi and I was zoomed in at about 300% and it crashed to BSOD.

I am retarded once again because I didn't write down the message and I don't know how to locate and read the data dumps or whatever they are called.

I did manage to write 1 of them down that was a crash in Counter-Strike: Source.

0X0000008E (0XC0000005 0XBFAF61D8 0XB62A9ADC 0X00000000)

nv4_disp.dll -BFAF61D8 base at BF9D5000 date stamp 47567aa4


the nv4_disp.dll part is what made me think to change up the video driver. but I don't have the reason for the latest crash.

should I run something like prime95 to check my ram?

oh yeah, I forgot, I haven't had any crashes durring games since I got a new driver.

thanks!
~Casey
__________________

cwr89 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Stop error in XP

nv4_disp.dll is part of Nvidia

Take the new stick of ram out and try it out for a few days.... This is much faster than running memtest which is a waste of time for the most part. Usually taking out the new stick fixes the issue. Maybe its not seated correctly? Try another ram slot? Take the old one out and use the new one? You gotta experiment here.

You could use driver cleaner and then install the drivers fresh and see where that gets you.

P.S I'm Osiris, not Oasis
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sometimes in Ohio, sometimes Indiana
Posts: 57
Default Re: Stop error in XP

great thanks!

I actually uninstalled the driver before I installed the new one.
time to play with the ram. if it is the ram slot moving it to the 3rd slot would mean I would be running dual channel. would that be faster, 1gig dual or 2 gig single?
I am sorry for the name. hehe, I knew it was something like that.
~Casey
cwr89 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Stop error in XP

Dual, Single, not really sure, depends on what kind of system you are running like a highend system, you prolly wont notice much or anything at all for that matter....

There are some single channel boards out there that whoop all over dual channels, just depends.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Stop error in XP

try a fresh install. the viruses probably corrupted some driver files
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sometimes in Ohio, sometimes Indiana
Posts: 57
Default Re: Stop error in XP

after playing around, I have found that I had a bad stick of ram. so I've RMAed it with newegg and they got me new one thats working perfectly. thanks!
__________________

cwr89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error} grapeape Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-16-2007 03:23 PM
stop the root!!! simple Linux and Open Source 2 10-12-2007 11:11 PM
Major STOP errors, can't reinstall Windows, please help. putty Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-20-2007 10:45 PM
How to stop my RAM OCing snypercore New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2007 01:29 PM
Windows Stop Error digitaldiva Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-10-2007 06:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.