Stop Error while Reinstalling Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Exclamation Stop Error while Reinstalling Windows

I am trying to reinstall windows on a computer, and I put the cd in, put in serial and etc, then once the comp resarts, it gives me this blue screen. I do boot from the cd, but it gives me the blue screen. It says something about a virus being on the computer, and to run antivirus, and I did that numerous times. For the technical specs it says: STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7CAF524, 0x0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000) Any ideas on what is going on?
__________________

Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 10:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Inaccessible Boot Device


is that part of it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Inaccessible Boot Device


is that part of it?
No, it basically says that it shut down to prevent damage to the computer. It also says to check your hdd to make sure it is properly configured and terminated. It doesn't say anything about inaccesible boot device. It also says to run CHKDSK /F
Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Why dont you go ahead and delete the partition, make a new one, format and install again....this will give you the least headaches
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Why dont you go ahead and delete the partition, make a new one, format and install again....this will give you the least headaches
The thing is, is that I've been trying to do that for a while now. When I insert the windows cd, and once restarting it gives me the blue screen. So I can't delete the partition. Is there another way I can do it? Thanks.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 10:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...d_stp_xlxv.asp
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You might have a hardware issue....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

If this helps, the computer I tried reinstalling windows didn't work with pro. Then we tried home edition, that came with his pc, Dell 9100 or 9200 I believe. The home edition worked installing and didn't have the blue screen, but, after we had to restart the computer to boot from cd again because the hdd didn't format correctly, or we made an error while trying to delete partitions and etc. So we tried booting from cd again, and then the blue screen shows up with the stop error. Is there any other resolutions to this? I think I might try updating all the drivers for the whole system, but I have no idea on what else to do. Thanks for any help.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

something is not adding up here. the hard drive not formating right? Xp pro will work on any system that has home on it. You need to use a Windows 98 bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com and delete the partition all together and make a new one and then format it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

I think the hdd formats correctly, but I must have made a mistake when I selected the partitions. I didn't delete them all and create a new one. I have the boot disk for home and pro. I tried them both but they keep going into the blue screen after the restart. It gets into the screen where it asks for the raid and is scanning a bunch on things at the bottom of screen, but after that, the other blue screen pops up with the error. So basically I have no access to delete the partition or create a new one. Another way maybe?
__________________

Triple-X is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.