stop error - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 09:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

yes, I do know what you mean, and I believe that is the problem, because like I said I have a brand new ASUS CD-RW that I got with all the rest of the computer parts, and it came messed up, and I took out the CD-RW from a very old HP pavilion XT963 and tried using it for the install of windows.. so after I reformat this new ASUS CDRW, I believe it will work.

thanks for the link Warez
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

ok, well I got boot98, and i started it, and i put in the floppy, and it got to a 100%.. everything stopped, what now? its not this easy is it?
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

now you gotta boot from the floppy, follow this below:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ighlight=fdisk
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

alright thanks, 1 quick question, do I do this on the new comp? sorry for all the questions, this is a new step of computers for me.
Ksingler is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do this on the pc that is messed up
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

alright thanks, i'll go get on that one, and i'll post back when finished, thanks for all the help warez
Ksingler is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 07:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

YOOOOOOO!!!! Great news.. I'm on my new computer.... you know what it was... I went into a pc shop downtown.. and I needed Windows 98 disk!! so the guy hooked it up with one(not for free, but i didn't pay for it ) and we then flew through windows setup.. and everything is good.. this computer is so **** fast compared to my old one... cant even describe the speed difference.. thanks for the help throughout the way guys.. much appreciated... take care
K-
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.