startup/shutdown issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default startup/shutdown issues

have two issues on start up
1. sometimes after loading XP the desktop appears and some of my programs start loading up but then suddenly the screen goes blank and the computer starts booting up again
2. every time I boot up after the BIOS takes care of the POST it displays something along the lines of:
Scanning IDE drives...

No drive attached to Fasttrack controller...the BIOS is not installed

^how do I get those things to stop

one issue on shutdown
sometimes when I shut down my computer it pops up with Ending Program please wait....WindowsFrmsParkingWindow <something to that effect

info you might need:
XP home
3.4 p4
2gb corsair ram
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe mobo
BIOS version 1020.001

any help is appreciated
__________________

dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Lets try this first off:

Go to start, run, type MSCONFIG, go to STARTUP, click disable all, then reboot, lets see if that takes care of your first problem
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

ok, good, but now I have to figure out what of that to use, my catalyst control center is not working when I try to load it up now

also scanning IDE drives check on boot still occuring
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

So you are using ATI right? If so, look for the word ati or something similiar, or if you want, you can post your startup process here and i will tell you what to keep and what not to keep.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

yes I have an ati radeon x800 xt platinum edition
with catalyst display driver version 6.14.10.6512
and with the latest version of the catalyst control center

ok these are my startup entries

cli
avgcc
avgemc
CTDVDDET
CTHELPER
CTSysVol
FRAPS
gcasServ
point32
dumprep 0 -k
lxbabmgr
PicasaMediaDetector
rundll32
RCMan
SpySweeper
jusched
type32
Viewmgr
Adobe Reader Speed Launch
ATI CATALYST System Tray
Microsoft Office
Brightness Controller
Trillian

thanks for the help here!
dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Keep these marked:

cli - ati
avgcc - most essential your AV
avgemc - most essential your AV
gcasServ - Microsofts ASP, only if you want it there
SpySweeper - Same here, only if you want it there
ATI CATALYST System Tray - ati
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

aha! very good so far

control center works now and it didn't reboot spontaneously
also I rebooted 3 times now and didn't get the WindowsParkingWindow programs close attempt on shutdown

so I think you fixed 2 out of my 3 problems

if you can help with the other one I will try to tell you about it
after POST check it says
Scanning IDE drives...

No drive attached to FastTrak Controller...the BIOS is not installed.

I have only one hard drive
it is a western digital raptor 37gb 10,000rpm
:beard:
dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do you have an Asus Motherboard ?

If so try this.

Restart your system and boot into the BIOS.
Go to Advanced, Onboard Device's Configuration, Onboard Promise Controller and change the setting to disabled.
Press F10 and agree to save the changes and Exit.

On restart the message should have gone.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

yep, asus p4c800-e deluxe

ok, I need a detailed of that if possible :beard:
not sure how to boot into bios, or what key to mash during start up or what have you, thanks
dale5605 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

reboot, and hit f8. If that lets you in the bios, let me know..
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.