startup...freeze - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2006, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default startup...freeze

hey, this problem just started on my main pc not to long ago, my dad was working, and the computer froze, so I restarted it. Once the startup was over, I moved the mouse and it just froze again, so I restarted it, and the same thing happened more than twice. What could be the problem.
__________________

ville_valo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

boot into safemode, run MSconfig, and turn off everything. Then reboot. Does the problem still exist? if not, then you have to isolate what in startup is causing this. Also, look in Eventvwr to local errors.

If not, then might be something else. Boot the system with your windows disk in it. When you get the screen up asking what you want to do, run recovery console. Then run chkdsk /f and see what it tells you.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default

ok, I turned off everything, the problem is still there, i ran Eventvwr and there seems to be a problem in the system involving something called DCOM, what should I look for in local errors.
ville_valo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

run dcomcnfg abd expand a few of the trees. Do you get any errors? if so, what do they say?

Can you find the event that is listed at the system freeze? is it just the mouse or the whole machine?
Can you do anything when the machine freezes?
Inaris is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

how many processes are running at once? enter each process name into google, and see if they are viruses.

also, do a virus scan, especially with an on-line virus scanner.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

if you can get that working, you might want to consider xp repair
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
run dcomcnfg abd expand a few of the trees. Do you get any errors? if so, what do they say?

Can you find the event that is listed at the system freeze? is it just the mouse or the whole machine?
Can you do anything when the machine freezes?
there are several errors, some are COM+, other DCOM, Application Hang, Application Error, Service Control Manager.

The first freeze was at about 4:15 or so, at exacly 4:15:40, there is an error DCOM, then another one and after that there is a Service Control Manager error.

The whole machine freezes, the mouse doesn't work, the Bloq Number, Bloq Despl, Bloq Mayus, keys don't turn on/off. Ctrl+Alt+Supr doesn't work at all. So my only option is to reset the computer.
ville_valo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
how many processes are running at once? enter each process name into google, and see if they are viruses.

also, do a virus scan, especially with an on-line virus scanner.
there is a virus "lsass.exe", which on-line virus scanner is the best
ville_valo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I doubt that you have a virus..post a hijackthis log

That is part of windows
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default

i know, but it's not the only one, and most of the processes that have like two meaning are somehow related to Netsky D., how do I know for sure if they are virus or just a part of windows, or both.
__________________

ville_valo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.