startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default startup

Hi
I need to get to my startup, when i start up(login) it comes up with this windows installer, which leads to some sort of lost link, one of those point to the file things.

can you tel lme how to access my startup?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

What you need to do is to find the program that is trying to run on startup and remove it. There are 3 places this could be.

First, look in the startup program group. Start -> All Programs -> Startup. If it's there, simply delete it.

Second, if it's not int he startup group, Start -> Run -> msconfig
Click on the startup tab and remove whichever app is bothering you.

Lastly, if it's not there, it could be in the startup registry key. First off, I have to warn that editing your registry incorrectly can cause irreversible problems with your computer.

To check this key, go to Start -> Run -> regedit
Navigate to this key
HKey_Local_Machine -> Software -> Microsoft -> Windows -> CurrentVersion -> Run

This key should look similar to what was in the msconfig startup menu. If the program is there remove the string.

If it's still not there, navigate to this key. (Make sure you're logged into the profile that has the annoying popup)

HKey_Current_User -> Software -> Microsoft -> Windows -> CurrentVersion -> Run

Remove the key from there.


If it still can't be found, you've baffled me :P
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Smile

go to run, type in msconfig, enter. you should see the startup tab...

not sure if this is what you are looking for.



edit:
err....bla got there a second before me.
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks dudes
i think it is soundman.exe
have you guys heard of it?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Here you go.

http://www.liutilities.com/products/...rary/soundman/

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 09:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

hey i have got realtek chip on my mobo, and the sound is still working,

it comes up with this error SPOTxdePlayerDLL.msi, it can't fild some file which was supposed to be there and ends up looking at folder, i cancel it and then tries to do the windows install again, about 4 more times, before my cancel finally works.

please help
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.