startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2004, 01:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default startup

where can i access the the programs that my computer loads on startup. i want to disable some of these to allow for a faster boot sequence. I know some of these running programs are not seen in the lower right hand corner. i have xp pro.
__________________

__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 01:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

U se the msconfig tool .. click start>run type in msconfig, then go to the startup tab and see whats up
__________________

sunsider is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

thx
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 08:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default

with that system it shouldnt be having any prob starting up
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via ICQ to justdoit Send a message via Yahoo to justdoit
Default

If you want to add executable files to your startup

you can do it easily by add a shortcut to Documents and Settings\Administrator\startup menu\programmes\startup

or drag the files to the startup\all pros\statup
__________________
Questions ? Discussions ?
u can Contact me by:
icq: 332005496
msn: tbwises@hotmail.com
c\\c++\\vc\\mfc\\windows\\linux\\software

I\'ll try my best to help u, ul surely be welcome :)

/*
whiel(true){
if(havetime)
Fun=(Friends+Music+Movies);
else Money=(study+study);
}*/
justdoit is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via ICQ to justdoit Send a message via Yahoo to justdoit
Default

Yes, there are some ways which can enable you do this:

1, use Visual Studio/resourcehacker.exe etc, which you can import or export resources with the exe programes, you can also change it's Dialogs and Strings etc, etc, but some pros are not allowed to do so, but there are still programe to force to do so

2, use IconExe , a programe which enables you to do so, also easier

I'd like to provide you with some website below:

I recommend you to use IconExe(never tried ,but it works) , or resourcehacker.exe.
here are some links of ressource hacker
resource hacker(Free!)
http://www.soft32.com/download_3568.html
http://www.snapfiles.com/get/resourcehacker.html
http://www.softpedia.com/public/cat/5/4/5-4-5.shtml
__________________

__________________
Questions ? Discussions ?
u can Contact me by:
icq: 332005496
msn: tbwises@hotmail.com
c\\c++\\vc\\mfc\\windows\\linux\\software

I\'ll try my best to help u, ul surely be welcome :)

/*
whiel(true){
if(havetime)
Fun=(Friends+Music+Movies);
else Money=(study+study);
}*/
justdoit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.