Start up problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 10:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
When you click edit a notepad file opens copy and paste the text and post it back here:
__________________

wicked23 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 12:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
When you click edit a notepad file opens copy and paste the text and post it back here:
then we can tell you what to do
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 10:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Ok, I did that.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 11:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nicholasp7
Ok, I did that.
no you didn't. otherwise we would see something like this

Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS=
"Windows XP Media Center Edition" 
/noexecute=optin /fastdetect
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 12:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Yes, when I got into notepad, there was some stuff in there and at the bottom of all of that stuff I typed boot.ini then saved and exited. Nothing happened.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 12:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

no you dont follow....copy and paste all the text, that file is the boot.ini we need to see whats in it as it will tell us what OS is booting up so copy and paste all the text.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 12:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nicholasp7
Yes, when I got into notepad, there was some stuff in there and at the bottom of all of that stuff I typed boot.ini then saved and exited. Nothing happened.
will you reread this post? you are frustrating us.


Copy what that notepad said and paste it here (like I did in my last posts). if you don't do that, then we can't help you
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 08:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Ok, when I get back home I will copy and paste it. Sorry i haven't ever had these kinds of problems.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

that is what is on it.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 07:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nicholasp7
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

that is what is on it.
that looks fine. how many hard drives and partitions do you have?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.