Start up problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Question Start up problem

hey guys,

everytime i restart my computer windows xp wants to do a chkdsk on my drive H but....drive H doesnt have anything but games on it...and its only just started doing this...i checked to see how much space is on there and there is still 7gb free....

any idea on how to stop this ??

thanks
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

have you let it run yet to see if it will stop the next time you reboot?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

i always let it run haha....always passes 100% then continues into xp...
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 01:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

anyone ???
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 06:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

ok this is strange...a problem that someone on TF doesnt know how to fix lol
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 06:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Rightclick the disk in "My computer". Go to Properties --> Extra, and do another scandisk, and reboot if neccessary. Maybe it will go away.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 08:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

type in chkdisk /f and then let it run
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 11:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Rightclick the disk in "My computer". Go to Properties --> Extra, and do another scandisk, and reboot if neccessary. Maybe it will go away.
do you mean .... tools ..... then error checking ?? cause i just tried that and it still does it

and warez i tried your idea as well
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 03:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

still got the problem......nemore ideas ???
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.