Start up of outlook, windows installer initializes - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2005, 10:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12

Ok, I pm'd my email to you. I will wait for the file.

So I will just save the file to my c: and then when the prompt asks me to point it to the file I just select it from the list correct? I sure hope this works, thanks again!

RGCOMP is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 10:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

I emailed you but it was sent back to me, is your inbox full?

Osiris is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

The problem you are having is that the installer is trying to find the source for this. if it's not avalable, you will have to uninstall. There are several options to you on this as well. If you can find the sourc CD, not just the file, cause there are a lot of files that will be needed, you can save you self some headaches, by doing a custom install of office and removing the unneeded applications, i.e. Frontpage.
Also if you have the space on your machine and you find your source media, place it in a folder somewhere and install it from there. You can acutally do a repair since it's MSI and that will change the source location of the installer.
Good Luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12

I am so sorry...I have been out of town.

Thank you for sending it to me. Try it again, could the file be too large for a hotmail account?

INARIS - How do I go about doing a repair? I went into control panel "add remove software" and clicked repair on Microsoft XP office with Frontpage and it supposedle "repaired" it. Still having the same problem as before.

The worst part is that my number for my xp office is a OEM version and the manufacturer did not send me a disk for the xp office software.

I really need to get this fixed as it is now doing the same thing when I open Word documents. ugghg

Thanks again for all your help!

RGCOMP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.