Start up of outlook, windows installer initializes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default Start up of outlook, windows installer initializes

Whenever I open my MS Outlook, before it opens I get some windows installer box opening that says "Microsoft xp professional with Frontpage" then it gives me some error message 1706 saying it cannot find the software to initialize.

It is driving me nuts, are there any quickfixes for this problem? I truly have no clue whatsoever.

Any help woudl be GREAT!

Thanks in advance.
__________________

RGCOMP is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is it asking for a file? If so, copy Frontpage to your harddrive and when it askes for the file, point it to the folder you just made and find the file. If this isnt your problem, did you try to uninstall FP?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default

I do not use frontpage as far as I know. I am not sure what even is or does. How do I install it?

one of the messages says that " the feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable"

then it tells me to find or direct it to a file called PROPLUS.MSI

Any clue?
RGCOMP is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do you have the Office XP cd? If you do, copy the cd to your harddrive and when it asks you for that file, browse for it and then once you find it, it will install that file.
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default

I do not believe that I do. I will look for it again. Is there any other way to get it? When I copy it to the hard drive do I just save it to, say, "my docs"?
RGCOMP is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Sure can. I would put it in program files thou just to be safe. You will need that cd so try to find it or get ahold of one if possible.
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Tell you what I can try. I have Office XP and I can get the file for you and email it to you and that could work. Want to give it a try?
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Default

sure that would be great! I can give you my email adress via PM.

Thank you for all your help, I really know very little about all of this.
RGCOMP is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Ok, send it and when I get to work tomorrow....i will email you thie file. Should be very small, a few kb's.
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 05:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

If that registry entry does not work, try this but only if you have the cd. Make a backup of te file first just incase the file becomes corrupted. rename mso2002.dll to proplus.msi
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.