Start Up Lock Up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2007, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Start Up Lock Up.

Brand New 160Gig Hard Drive. Installed windows, went fine..booted..installed the drivers and some SP2 Updates for XP Home which is on a driver disc which I got with comp. Computer now locks up on the "Windows is loading" on the blue screen, Not BSoD..The Welcome one. The pixel depth must be only 8bit, and it wont load from there. Any suggestions.

Spec is Roughly

P4 2.8 + Hyper Threading
512 Ram
Nvidia 6200GS TC 64/256mb.




Tested SafeMode(wont boot)
Tested Boot Order(wont boot)
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Start Up Lock Up.

Format and try again?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-11-2007, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Start Up Lock Up.

I was trying to avoid that.

Guess I have no choice.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM
Slooow start up with KAV and Z.A firewall Willeh Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-09-2007 01:31 PM
CPU Problems (won't start up) kreation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-03-2007 07:17 PM
computer cant start in normal mode danmanzcool1 HijackThis Logs (finished) 9 04-23-2007 08:34 AM
Computer Doesn't Start up! cbo0485 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 04-17-2007 10:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.