Start up 'issues' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2005, 05:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Unhappy Start up 'issues'

I have two issues that I hope someone can help me solve.

1) Recently I needed to get rid of some viruses from my computer, as a result I needed to go into safe mode. I have since 'solved' the virus issue, but everytime I turn on my computer it asks me to choose between normal boot up, or safe mode. Is there a way to stop this from happening? I was certain I had disabled safe mode start up.

2) On my laptop, I downloaded a custom boot screen, and used StyleXP to apply it. However, every time I turn on my laptop it asks me whether I want to turn my laptop on with or without a bootscreen, and it has a 30 second timer. Is there a way to stop WindowsXP from being so retarded and just accept the new boot screen. I have since restored the default boot screen until this problem is solved. If there is no way to fix this, then I guess it means I'm stuck with WindowsXP Bland Edition.
__________________

SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what do you hhave in the boot.ini?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

i wouldn't have a clue. how can i check?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to start, run and type "notepad C:\boot.ini"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition (bootscreen)" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn /KERNEL=kernel1.exe
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

change it to this:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

it won't let me save the changes. where abouts is the boot.ini file kept?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

type "attrib C:\boot.ini" in run
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

im just going to try restarting
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try this:
type "del C:\boot.ini" in run

then make a new file in C: called boot
open it, put in this:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW
S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect

then click file, save as, select "all files" in the list, and call it boot.ini

this just means you're replacing the boot.ini with one you've made
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.